The Blacksmith's Shop is an Indiana Blacksmiths Association (http://www.indianablacksmithing.org/) Satellite and partners with the Jennings County Historical Society. The working blacksmith shop, located just north of the Historical Society's headquarters, is maintained and used by local smithy Ray Sease and other artisans. Ray demonstrates the art of pounding rough iron into unique items during
One of the Society's most recent preservation projects - In February 2007 the Society moved the smallest Victorian Pattern Home in Indiana from North Vernon to Vernon. The tiny, one-room house was a railroad office owned by Eldo Hicks. Eldo and his 4 sons engineered railroad bridges from this small office from the late 1880's to about 1910. The building was restored and dedicated in April 2009.
Fred Struben, Sr. carried mail with this horse drawn buggy in the 1920's and 1930's on his 32 mile mail route in Nebraska, Indiana. Fred kept a second horse at Denver Baldwin's home in Zenas, Indiana so he could switch horses along the way. During the winter months, Fred used a foot warmer and wore three layers of clothing to keep warm. He tied a feed bag to the back of the buggy for the horse.
Come see the 1865 Asher & Adams Map of Indiana now on display in our museum.
Built in 1860, this historic courthouse still is the home of the courts for Jennings County.
Designed by Perceptions Yoga, Mindfulness & Art's executive director Karen Chilman, the mural was completed on Polytab cloth with the help of over 20 different artists and depicts scenes connected to the history and people of the county.
Part of the Vernon Historic District, oral history tells us the cellars and adjoining tunnels of these row houses once were stations on the Underground Railroad.
The river winds its way around Vernon and Jennings County and is a popular spot for kayakers and fishermen.